Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone


The 5th Annual Major Jonathan Letterman Award for Medical Excellence will take place on October 24, 2012 at 6:00pm at the Bethesda North Marriott. Four individuals and four organizations have been nominated for this prestigious award presented by the National Museum of Civil War Medicine. For the first time in its five year history, the Letterman Award winners will not be announced until that evening. This will provide a unique opportunity for 8 of the leaders of medicine to gather in the same room at the same time on the same night.

In true pioneer style, all of these nominees work tirelessly to advance medical care and conditions for our fighting troops and civilian population. Few outside the military know of the existence of any of these nominees whose work is changing the face of medicine. One organization and one individual will receive a Major Jonathan Letterman Award for Medical Excellence, in recognition of their inspiring and pioneering spirit in the field of military medicine. New York Times best-selling author and philanthropist Lee Woodruff will be offering the keynote address at this year’s Maj Jonathan Letterman Award for Medical Excellence Gala Dinner. Mrs. Woodruff is the wife of ABC News anchor Bob Woodruff who was suffered a severe brain injury while imbedded with our troops. Her personal story is an inspiring one and will be told just yards away from where Mr. Woodruff was treated.


Warren S. Grundfest, MD, FACS

COL Peter J. Weina, PhD, MC, FACP, FIDSA

MAJ Jennifer L. Bell, MD, MC, USA

COL Craig D. Shriver, MD, FACS


Department of Defense Casualty Care Research Program (DOD CCCRP)

National Center for Medical Intelligence (NCMI)

mCare Project

Telemedicine and Advanced Technology Research Center (TATRC)

The National Museum of Civil War Medicine, located on 48 E. Patrick Street in Frederick, Maryland, established the Major Jonathan Letterman Medical Excellence Award in 2008 to honor individuals, military units or entities, companies, organizations or project groups who are leaders in innovative efforts in combat casualty care, prosthetic technology, improving outcomes for patients with traumatic brain injuries incurred on the battlefield, or drawing on today’s cutting edge medical technology to develop new ways to assist Armed Forces members who have suffered severe disfiguring wounds. These innovations carry over into civilian life many times contributing to the advancement of medical processes and improved patient outcomes and quality of life for all.

History of the Award:

* The City of Frederick, MD, was awarded the First Letterman Award in October 2008.

* The 2009 award recipient was the U.S. Army’s Medical Communications for Combat Casualty Care (MC4).

* In 2010, a new tradition of two awards began, one to an individual and one to an entity. COL (ret) Robert H. Vandre was the recipient of the award to an individual. Joint Trauma Analysis and Prevention or Injury in Combat (JTAPIC) received the award to an entity.

* 2011 award to the Military Amputee Research Program (MARP) and COL Alexander Stojadinovic, MD, FACS

The Letterman Award will be presented at a gala dinner to be held on Wednesday, October 24, 2012, at the Bethesda North Marriott in Bethesda, MD. Proceeds will benefit the National Museum of Civil War Medicine’s educational outreach programs and the Letterman Institute. For ticket and/or sponsor information please contact David Price: Strategy@civilwarmed.org, for more information, please contact April Dietrich: Letterman@civilwarmed.org.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *